IMPORTANT - The UKPOC forums will be completely disabled for 24 hours on Sunday 20th May from 21:30. Read more about it here. Thank you.

will a mazda 626 engine fit in a probe

For all technical questions. VIEWABLE without login, you need to register (free) to be able to post a question.
Post Reply
User avatar
red82.123
Forum Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 3:26 pm
Drives: 1994 ford probe 16v
Location: Dundee

will a mazda 626 engine fit in a probe

Post by red82.123 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:07 pm

hi all got my ment to be reconditioned engine today but its not. its from a mazda 626 automatic dose anyone know if it will fit in my 16v probe

Andy W
UKPOC Full Member
Posts: 17578
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:59 pm
Drives: 94 probe 16v
Location: County Durham Drives: rio red 16v

Re: will a mazda 626 engine fit in a probe

Post by Andy W » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:26 pm

It should but you might have to swap a few bits across.
Image

User avatar
red82.123
Forum Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 3:26 pm
Drives: 1994 ford probe 16v
Location: Dundee

Re: will a mazda 626 engine fit in a probe

Post by red82.123 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:31 pm

thats ok dont mind that, it was the the gearbox going on that had me thinking
Last edited by red82.123 on Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dick Dastardly
Forum Member
Posts: 4821
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:04 am
Drives: Probeless.
Location: Nottinghamshire

Re: will a mazda 626 engine fit in a probe

Post by Dick Dastardly » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:26 pm

Check "carefully" on the drive shaft alignments.
"No Muttley, we can't win fairly! We are villains, ergo we have to cheat!"

User avatar
Jon G 24V
Head Tech Guru
Posts: 5898
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 12:32 am
Drives: 95 'N'Reg 24V
Location: Leicester

Re: will a mazda 626 engine fit in a probe

Post by Jon G 24V » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:53 pm

I did this a few years back with a 24V from an Auto MX6. (Mike knows that Car very well :lol: :lol: )
As said it should be fine just use whatever bits you need from your Original.
Drive shafts should be fine as your using your own gearbox.
Image

'Rosie'

1995 'N'Reg - 2.5LTR 24V-Rio Red Barn Find - UKPOC No69

User avatar
red82.123
Forum Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 3:26 pm
Drives: 1994 ford probe 16v
Location: Dundee

Re: will a mazda 626 engine fit in a probe

Post by red82.123 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:01 pm

thanks guys will let my mechanic know

User avatar
Roc 24v
Forum Member
Posts: 26970
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:17 am
Drives: Probe 24v 1995
Location: Exeter, Devon
Contact:

Re: will a mazda 626 engine fit in a probe

Post by Roc 24v » Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:53 am

Engine is fine, change the throttle body for the Probe item as the 626 one is smaller.
Image

User avatar
red82.123
Forum Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 3:26 pm
Drives: 1994 ford probe 16v
Location: Dundee

Re: will a mazda 626 engine fit in a probe

Post by red82.123 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:27 pm

thanks mark

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests